A Journey Through the World of Tea

Featured Tea Company: Bourgea Tea

What’s the history behind the company, how did you get your start?

We started in October 2008. I wanted to supply students on my campus with higher quality tea. I also wanted to change peoples views on tea.

Where are you located?

We are based out of Anderson IN.

From what Country’s do you get your tea from?

The teas are grown in China, Sri Lanka, India, and South Africa.

What do the customers mean to your company?

Customers are obviously important to all companies. I want my customers to feel that received good service and if they are new to tea I want them to fall in love with tea.

What are some of the difficulties with selling tea?

Most people think tea tastes bad. There is also lots of competition. Sometimes it can be hard to standout when you have a small budget.

This is a three-parter. What tea does every one order? What tea would you suggest for tea newbies? What is your most  unique tea?

The white peach and detox are the most popular teas. I think that people who are new to tea should start with the white peach. I call the white peach my gateway tea because its the tea that gets people into tea. My most unique tea is my lucari chai. It has pineapple in it and uses green tea as the base instead of black tea. It was created for a couple that got married and wanted their own tea.

What makes your tea company unique?

Every tea is hand blended. It was started out of my dorm room.

In three words, can your sum up the culture of your company?

indy, healthy, charitable

What is the companies mission?

The vision of the company is to change the persona of tea from its stigma as a drink for older ladies in fluffy hats and young girls at tea parties to its splendor as an amazing, flavorful resource for all those who need something spectaculicious to drink. Throw yo’ pinkie up and let the TEA revolution begin!

Don’t forget to check Bourgea Tea out on Twitter and Facebook.

5 responses

  1. Thanks Jordan & BourgeaTea for the interview. I love getting to know the other tea people I meet on twitter. This is a great series, and I’m looking forward to lots more “gentle grilling.”
    PS: I have one question..how did BTea choose their name? I have trouble remembering how to spell them. I think of “Bourgeois” but I know it’s not that.

    J.

    October 26, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    • Thanks for your question Jackie. We came up with the name because it is my last name. We liked the way it sounded and decided to go with it. :)

      October 27, 2010 at 12:56 am

      • Thanks for the reply Chris. That’s an interesting last name you have!

        October 27, 2010 at 4:01 pm

  2. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this
    one nowadays.

    July 9, 2013 at 5:05 pm

  3. Tim Johnson

    Resurrect Bourgea Tea Company!

    December 6, 2013 at 3:42 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.